President signs Stefanik’s women’s suffrage coin act into law

The president this week signed into law a bipartisan bill introduced by U.S. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY) directing the U.S. Treasury Department to mint and issue up to 400,000 $1 silver coins commemorating the women who played a vital role in rallying support for the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

“I am honored that President Trump signed the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commemorative Coin Act into law this afternoon,” Rep. Stefanik said on Monday following the signing ceremony at the White House.

Rep. Stefanik in April sponsored H.R. 2423 with lead original cosponsor U.S. Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), while the identical S. 1235 was sponsored by U.S. Sens. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) in their chamber. The measure eventually gained 310 more cosponsors in the U.S. House of Representatives and 84 more in the U.S. Senate.

“One of the most vocal advocates for women’s suffrage, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, was born and raised in Johnstown, New York, and I am looking forward to celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment in my district next year,” said Rep. Stefanik. “The majority of voters in our country are women, and it is my hope that this legislation will encourage women across the country to continue to be active participants in civic life.”

The coins will be issued during the period beginning on Jan. 1, 2020, and ending on Dec. 31, 2020, with all surcharges received from the sales of the coins being paid to the American Women’s History Initiative of the Smithsonian Institution.