Iranian Terror Prevention Act proposed by Miller, GOP colleagues

U.S. Rep. Carol Miller (R-WV) and 59 of her Republican colleagues on April 15 proposed legislation to sanction and designate 11 Iranian organizations as Foreign Terrorist Organizations (FTOs).

“Iran and its proxy organizations continue to terrorize Israel,” Rep. Miller said. “The United States must call out Iranian groups who commit such evil attacks for what they really are: terrorist organizations.”

The Iranian Terror Prevention Act, H.R. 8011, which Rep. Miller cosponsored alongside bill sponsor U.S. Rep. Greg Steube (R-FL), would designate 11 Iranian groups as FTOs: the Abu Fadl al-Abbas Brigades, Ansarallah (Houthis), the Badr Organization, the Fatemiyoun Brigade, Harakat Hezbollah al-Nujaba, Kata’ib al-Imam Ali, Kata’ib Jund al-Imam, Kata’ib Sayyad al Shuhada, Sarayya al-Jihad, Sarayya Khorasani, and the Zainabiyoun Brigade.

Additionally, H.R. 8011 would designate “any foreign entity or organization that is an agent of, affiliated with, or owned or controlled by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps,” as an FTO, according to the text of the bill.

Six organizations would be determined for sanctioning: the Abu Fadl al-Abbas Brigades, the Badr Organization, Kata’ib al-Imam Ali, Kata’ib Jund al-Imam, Sarayya al-Jihad, and Sarayya Khorasani, the text says. 

“President Biden has shown nothing but weakness and inconsistency when it comes to supporting Israel, and it’s unacceptable,” said Rep. Miller. “The United States must stand behind Israelis. The Iranian Terror Prevention Act will sanction these terrorists and remind them of the United States’ commitment to Israel.”

Among the 58 other original cosponsors of H.R. 8011 are U.S. Reps. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Troy Balderson (R-OH), Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), John Moolenaar (R-MI), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), August Pfluger (R-TX), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), and Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL).