Roskam cheers signing of Medicare Independence at Home Act into law

After President Obama signed the Medicare Independence at Home Medical Practice Demonstration Improvement Act of 2015 into law on Tuesday, U.S. Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL) released a statement discussing his support for the measure and the importance of the law, which essentially extends the Independence at Home (IAH) Medical Practice Demonstration Program for two years, avoiding lapses in care for beneficiaries and the loss of savings generated for the Medicare program.

“This successful effort to extend a critical demonstration program that offers patients at-home primary-care services is a testament to how just one American can make a difference,” Roskam, a member of the House Ways and Means Subcommittee on Health who co-authored the law with Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX), said.

“My constituent, Dr. Thomas Cornwell, who has long been a champion for bringing primary care to seniors in the comfort of their own homes, brought this important program to my attention and inspired me to advance this legislation,” Roskam said. “I want to thank Congressman Burgess for leading this effort in the House, and Dr. Cornwell for his tireless commitment to this important cause.”

Cornwell, founder of HomeCare Physicians in Wheaton, Illinois, and president of the American Academy of Home Care Medicine, personally has made over 30,000 house calls since 1997. These services save taxpayer dollars and also make sure Americans have convenient access to all the care they need.

“We are so grateful to Rep. Roskam and Dr. Burgess for championing this bill in the House,” Cornwell said. “This two-year extension of the IAH demonstration is an important first step in advancing this proven model to provide better, more cost-effective health care to homebound Medicare patients.”

Roskam (R-IL) has represented Illinois’ Sixth District in the House since 2007. Born in Hinsdale, Illinois, in 1961, Roskam previously served as chief deputy whip from 2011 to 2014. Roskam was educated at the University of Illinois and Chicago-Kent College of Law.