Ways and Means Republicans unveil Tax Teams, appoint leaders

U.S. House Ways and Means Tax Subcommittee Chairman Mike Kelly (R-PA) on April 24 joined the committee’s chairman in announcing the formation of 10 House Ways and Means Committee Tax Teams, which are comprised of Republican committee members and assigned specific areas of tax policy to review. 

“It’s time to turn the page on the disastrous Biden economy and strengthen our workforce, help our families, and restore the American dream,” said Rep. Kelly, who has been named to lead the Community Development Tax Team. 

The other teams are: American Manufacturing, Working Families, American Workforce, Main Street, New Economy, Rural America, Supply Chains, U.S. Innovation, and Global Competitiveness. 

Each team will study key tax provisions from the 2017 Trump tax cuts that are set to expire in 2025 and identify legislative solutions to continue helping families, workers, and small businesses.  

“While Democrats are getting ready to raise taxes on workers, families, and mom-and-pop businesses on Main Street, Ways and Means Republicans are defending the Trump tax cuts that resulted in the strongest economy in American history,” Rep. Kelly said. “These tax teams will ensure that our tax code works for Americans — not the other way around.” 

U.S. Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-PA) was appointed chair of the Main Street Tax Team and will also serve on the American Workforce Tax Team, which is chaired by U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL).

“When small businesses thrive on Main Street, our communities thrive,” said Rep. Smucker. “I look forward to leading this effort to help small businesses grow, create jobs, and invest in their communities, by ensuring tax parity between corporations and small businesses. Advancing pro-growth tax policy is critical to unleashing the American economy.”

U.S. Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS) will chair the U.S. Innovation Tax Team and will also serve on the Global Competitiveness Tax Team.

“Americans are innovators — it’s in our DNA. From the air conditioner to the zipper and everything in between, Americans have been at the forefront of innovations that changed the world,” said Rep. Estes. “As we approach the middle of the third decade of the 21st century, it’s imperative that we show the world that our ingenuity and entrepreneurial roots aren’t gone — we’re just getting started.”

For instance, Rep. Estes noted that innovators in the 4th District of Kansas, which he represents, are making breakthroughs to advance defense and aerospace technology, biotechnology, chips and semiconductors, and biofuels and carbon capture technology.

“We need a tax code that reflects our creative spirit and encourages more homegrown research, experimentation, development and innovation — and makes it possible for the people and companies doing this cutting-edge work to make the U.S. their home base,” he said. “I’m excited to work with Vice Chair Michelle Steel (R-CA) and our team to talk with stakeholders and develop plans that will enhance American innovation.”

U.S. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) was appointed chair of the American Working Families Tax Team and will also serve on the American Workforce Tax Team.

“Our nation stands at a pivotal economic crossroads and is fighting for competitiveness in an ever-expanding 21st-century global landscape,” said Rep. Fitzpatrick. “With many provisions of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 set to revert to their previous state at the end of 2025, as stated by the nonpartisan Tax Foundation, ‘most taxpayers will see a tax hike unless some or all provisions are extended.’

“Our hardworking American families are facing the most substantial tax hike in our nation’s history, and it is incumbent upon us to exhaust every avenue to shield them from bearing the brunt of this burden and not take more out of their pockets,” the congressman added.

Other Tax Team chairmanship appointments include: U.S. Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL), American Manufacturing; U.S. Rep. Adrian Smith (R-NE), Rural America; and U.S. Rep. Carol Miller (R-WV), Supply Chains.

House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Jason Smith (R-MO) joined Rep. Kelly in making the Tax Teams announcements.