Miller joins colleagues to introduce Permanent Tax Cuts for American Families Act

U.S. Rep. Carol Miller (R-WV) on May 11 introduced GOP-led legislation that would amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently increase the standard deduction.

“As a member of the Ways and Means committee, it is my responsibility to make sure American families are able to save more and give the government less of their hard-earned money,” Rep. Miller said, noting that the bill would “cement important tax cuts into law, ensuring stability for families across West Virginia.”

Rep. Miller signed on as one of seven original cosponsors of the Permanent Tax Cuts for American Families Act, H.R. 3270, along with U.S. Reps. Adrian Smith (R-NE), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), Mike Kelly (R-PA), and Randy Feenstra (R-IA). U.S. Rep. Michelle Steel (R-CA) sponsored the bill, which would make permanent the enhanced standard deduction established by the Tax Cuts and Job Act of 2017 (TCJA) that is set to expire in 2025.

“The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act was revolutionary for the American taxpayer,” said Rep. Miller, whose staff said in a statement that it’s more advantageous and time saving for many filers to take the standard deduction than to itemize their deductions.

The TCJA nearly doubled the standard deduction, raising the return from $6,500 to $12,000 for individual filers, and from $13,000 to $24,000 for joint filers, according to a bill summary provided by the Republicans, and for tax year 2023, the standard deduction for married couples filing jointly will be raised to $27,700 for joint filers and $13,850 for individual filers.

“Thanks to this increase, more than 90 percent of filers don’t need to itemize, which is why we must act to make the enhanced standard deduction permanent,” Smith said. “There is no better member of the Ways and Means Committee to lead this important bill, and I thank Representative Steel for her commitment to a fairer, simpler tax code for families everywhere.”

H.R. 3270 has been referred for consideration to the U.S. House Ways and Means Committee.